top of page


Team Leader


Dr. Roey Elnathan received his PhD in chemistry from the Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology and the School of Chemistry at Tel-Aviv University (June 2012). His interdisciplinary research has focused on the development and application of new technologies in the fields of nanobiotechnology and bio/chemo sensors. His scientific expertise is in the fields of materials science, surface chemistry, biomaterials, and self-assembly, with demonstrated capabilities in nanomaterial fabrication and characterisation. His research expertise, particularly in the design and fabrication of nanostructures, provides major opportunities for collaboration and commercialisation with industry partners in nanobiotechnology and related disciplines. His research aligns strongly with the objectives of developing collaborative engagement with leading research institutions and universities globally to encourage the development of applications with real-world impact.


Team Leader


Nicolas H. Voelcker received his PhD degree in polymer surface chemistry at the DWI Leibniz Institute for Interactive Materials, Germany, in 1999 and did postdoctoral training at the Scripps Research Institute in California. In 2001, he became a Lecturer at Flinders University in Australia, an Associate Professor in 2006 and a full Professor in 2008. He was a Professor in Chemistry and Materials Science (2012–2013) and the Deputy Director (2013–2015) of the Mawson Institute at the University of South Australia. Since February 2017, he is the Scientific Director of the Melbourne Centre for Nanofabrication, Professor at the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Monash University and Science Leader at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO). He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering. His research activity is on the application of silicon-based nanostructured materials in biosensors, biochips, drug delivery and regenerative medicine

Team Leaders




Postdoc Researcher

Yaping Chen received her Ph.D. degree in Immunology from the School of Biomedical Sciences, Monash University, in 2017. Since then Yaping Chen has been a Research Fellow at the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Her research has focused on the interdisciplinary field of Bio-Nano technology, especially the development of novel, smart, and functional nano–bio interfaces for genetic modification and cellular immunotherapy.

Esther bio pic.jpg


PhD Candidate

Esther Lestrell is a PhD candidate with the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at Monash University. Esther graduated from Monash University with Honours in Law and Biomedicine, and her research interests span both fields. Esther’s current research in cellular nanobiotechnology investigates nanowire-mediated human cell manipulation, with a specific focus on human neural stem cells and vertically aligned silicon nanowire arrays.



PhD Candidate

Marina received her Master's degree in Photobiology and Photochemistry from Cairo University, Egypt. Her B.Sc. degree was in Biotechnology and Biomolecular Chemistry / Cairo University. Her interdisciplinary research has focused on gene delivery using nanoparticles to develop new vaccines. Marina Ph.D. is in the field of material science where she can demonstrate capabilities to fabricate and design nanowires and their characterisation. Her research focuses on fabricating Pre-programmed vertically aligned SiNW (VA-SiNW) that are capable to be harvested from Silicon into an optically transparent glass/quartz substrate to control intracellular bioactive delivery and bio-inspired antibacterial surface.



PhD Candidate

Ali-Reza Shokouhi holds an Honours/Master’s degree in Science/Nanotechnology from La Trobe University, majoring in chemistry. His Honours project was based on developing a low-cost, rapid, and ultrasensitive electrochemical sensing platform to detect C-reactive proteins. He is currently a first year PhD student at Monash University, where his research focuses on the development of a non-viral transformative nanostructural–electroporation technology for high-throughput and cost-efficient cell production.



PhD Candidate

HaoZhe Yoh is a PhD candidate with the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at Monash University. HaoZhe graduated from Flinders University with Honours in Bachelor of Science in Nanotechnology. His current research focuses on the development of polymeric VA-NW/NT arrays for intracellular delivery with adaptable and programmable architecture and geometries, displaying advantages in optical transparency, cost efficiency, flexibility, and scalability.

Artin Profile.jfif


PhD Candidate

Artin Assadi have finished his Master in Biochemistry from Islamic Azad University - Science and research branch, Iran, with high distinction. He is broadly interested in nanomedicine with particular emphasis on different biomolecules delivery, including drug molecules, or large biomolecules, such as antibiotics, proteins and genes (DNA and RNA). In his PhD research at Monash University, he focus on the issue of generating iPS cells with the aim of non-viral vertically aligned silicon nanowire arrays (VA-SiNW) with respect to safety and efficiency of nanoparticles to provide myriad new approaches for clinical purposes.

Current Members




Stella Aslanoglou received her BSc (Hons) degree in Physics from the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in 2013 and her Master's degree in Microelectronics-Optoelectronics from the University of Crete in 2016. Since March 2017, she is a PhD student at the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Monash University. Her research has focused on engineering functional nano–bio interfaces, based on vertically aligned silicon nanostructured arrays, for manipulation and interrogation of cell function, behavior and fate.

bottom of page